Keith Carandang

Full Name:  Keith Allyson V. Carandang

Age:  19 Yrs. Old

College/University:  De La Salle University – Manila

Course:  AB – International Studies Major in Japanese Studies

Prior Japanese Experience/Lesson:  Has been studying Japanese for approximately one year

Interests:  Judo, Painting, Sketching, Writing articles and short stories, Public speaking

 

“The JENESYS Program has not only given me the opportunity to experience so many firsts but also so many bests.  This was my first time to travel without my family, my first time in Japan, my first time as a delegate, my first time seeing snow, and my first time practicing Japanese outside of the classroom!  Everything about it scared me to death, and I loved every second of it.  I was not only challenged, I was also inspired. The beauty of all the places that we went to, took my breath away.  I fell in love with Japan in so many ways that I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to recover.  The Japanese people showed us hospitality fit for royalty.  This year is definitely one for the books!  The blessings that I have received because of this program are priceless.  I found myself wanting to work harder towards my goals, found out that I still have a lot to learn to excel in conversing in Japanese, and along all this I also found friends whom I would treasure for life.  This experience will never be forgotten. I hope so many others can have an opportunity to experience the things that I did.” – Keith

meskating

 

“Living in a tropical country, it’s been a dream of mine to even just see snow.  Now here I am skating at the Tsuyama Ice Land under the heavy drizzle of snow.  It was magical!  The artist in me thanked God for inspiring me with the beauty of nature.  The timing was so perfect that I could not help but think that this was all tailor-made to give us the best experience ever.  Our host family took us here and we will be forever grateful to them for welcoming us into their home and into their lives.  The two short days that we were with them has already been a great window into how a Japanese family lives.  I felt how loving and caring they all were for each other, as they made us feel a part of their family too.  This was definitely one of the highlights of my trip!”

Leave a Reply

