Cyvi Isugan

Full Name: Cyvi Kyle M. Isugan
Age: 19
College/University: Mindanao Kokusai Daigaku
Course: Bachelor of Science in International Studies Major in Japanese Language and Studies, 3rd Yr
Prior Japanese Experience/Lesson: Has been studying Japanese language and culture for more or less three years now.
Interests: I’m interested in reading almost anything readable, Watching Anime, Listening to music, Hanging out with friends, Aikido, Writing poems, Talking.
“Before applying for JENESYS, I have been studying the culture and language of Japan for three years now. My teachers at Mindanao Kokusai Daigaku are all well versed in almost anything connected to Japan. Learning their culture and language are not enough, reading it from textbooks are just not enough. Due to my fascination of anime, it has been one of my dreams to go to the land where it originated. This enthrallment of mine was one of the factors why I took a chance at JENESYS. In this program, I experienced the very things that I only read about in books. Their culture, speaking Japanese almost 24/7, and most of all going to their historical places like Korakuen Garden, Okayama Castle, Kurashiki Bikan, and hot spots such as Shibuya Crossing, Akihabara, and Ueno Park. Nonetheless, the best part of my stay in Japan was our homestay in Okayama. Watching Japanese families may be way for us to know how their system works. But, being immersed in that system is an entirely different matter. During our stay, we went to different places and experienced their culture first hand. They say that experience is the best teacher, and I agree.” – Cyvi

 

cyvi

“Me and my host family together with a fellow Filipino delegate
during our farewell party with them.”

Leave a Reply

